Triumph 675 Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
289 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i appologise if there has been a thread on this before but im a bit shit at searching forums. anyway im very new to my daytona and it has the factory powershifter fitted from new (previous owner) and i was wondering if constant use is harder wearing on the gearbox or any mechanical components? i dont know too much about how it works, just that it makes my pants happy every time i ride. ive started trying to control myself and not use it for every upshift. wondering if anyone has knowledge in this area? am i just being over cautious?

·
Registered
1,402 Posts
Not that I have any mechanical know how on the inner workings of a transmission, but I don't see why triumph would design a factory quick shifter that would cause any damage to any components, seeeing how its a factory part and I no way affects your warranty. Also, it retards ignition enough that it takes tension off the transmission for a precisely smooth upshift. I would dare say the engagement is smoother than the clutch in and out. Do not clutchless downshift though, that's a big nono.

·
Registered
946 Posts
Ive got one on my 09, I just find it's a bit rough if you try to use it at low rpm's and/or small throttle openings, this is the only time i think it could maybe cause more wear and tear than otherwise. I'll shift with a combination of clutch, clutch-less and Quickshift(just for fun) depending on the situation. It's just a matter of particular situation which method is smoothest.

·
Registered
289 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
thanks for the replies guys, i sometimes clutch upshift sometimes dont, i have noticed that it is smother at some rpm than others, it is a little clunky lower in the rev range, but i dont wanna rev its nuts off everywhere, mostly cos i dont want the fuzz on my ass or to end up in the side of a hyundai. but i dont think ill worry about extra wear on the gearbox. cheers again

·
Banned