Triumph 675 Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, complete newbie here that wants to learn. bought a 2008 d675 a couple weeks ago. The guy I bought it from says that the previous owner had lowered the bike, but he didnt know any more details.

I am 6 feet so I would like to restore it to its original height. Being a beginner I have no idea what to do or look for.
I snapped a picture of the suspension adjustment? if its to any help.

thank you

·
Registered
100 Posts
The rear is lowered by changing out what's commonly called "the dogbone" (because it looks like a bone sort of).

It's at the bottom of the rear shock and looks like this:

By changing the length of the dogbone there will be more or less downward pull on the rear shock thereby lowering or raising the bike. It has nothing to do with the top of the shock. If yours has been lowered this piece will look different from stock.

The front is a bit trickier. To do it right you would need to change the springs in the shocks. Most people just push the shocks higher on the top triple (which does lower the bike but screws with the steering and suspension geometry).

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
The rear is lowered by changing out what's commonly called "the dogbone" (because it looks like a bone sort of).

It's at the bottom of the rear shock and looks like this:

By changing the length of the dogbone there will be more or less downward pull on the rear shock thereby lowering or raising the bike. It has nothing to do with the top of the shock. If yours has been lowered this piece will look different from stock.

The front is a bit trickier. To do it right you would need to change the springs in the shocks. Most people just push the shocks higher on the top triple (which does lower the bike but screws with the steering and suspension geometry).