Triumph 675 Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody I'm going to the track this spring/summer as often as I can and because I'm new to it all I know I need the proper gear, basically all that I don't have is a gauntlet style glove and boots. I'm not sure where to even look when it comes to either just because I've never looked into either and I'm assuming the more you spend the better product you get and because I'm just starting out at trackdays I'd like to get a good pair of gloves and boots, but that isn't the cheapest things to buy.

So basically what I'm asking is what are a few good pair of boots and gloves that i can look into without quite spending top dollar?? Thank You.

·
Registered
2,722 Posts
Well If I were you, I would look at our classifieds or (craigslist) if you want to buy some used gear.
My Opinion buy New.
Boots-- Buy what is the most comfortable. I own a pair of the Sidis Vertigo Air. I spent just under 300 but they are the most comfortable boots I have owned or worn. Plus they have great feeling in the shifter and brake.

Gloves--You will want a full Gauntlet since you will need a 1 piece suit. When it comes to gloves buy what fits best and gives you the best feel on the bars. A-Star, HELD, Dainese...etc Also break them in first before you head to the track same goes with boots.

Suits-- I honestly couldn't tell you because I don't know enough about them. You have choices between cow hide, Kangaroo, all are usually around 1.3-1.4 thickness

Helmet--- Get a DOT and SNELL approved helmet, with tear offs on the face shield.

Bike-- Find out the rules for your track and make sure it can pass Tech.

ALSO LOOK AT HTTP://SPORTBIKETRACKGEAR.COM
Brian is an avid memeber on here and has a great site and he could get you everything you need to get on the track.

Good Luck