Triumph 675 Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As the title says, I'm a newbie living in the biker's paradise of SW Virginia. I currently ride an SV 1000s, but I'm considering selling it to buy a used Daytona 675. I'm looking to get something lighter and more nimble, and the 3-cylinder design appeals to my v-twin sensibilities.

Anything in particular to look out for on a used Daytona?

From reading the forum, it appears the RR is about the only thing that consistently goes wrong with these bikes.

·
Registered
928 Posts
The only other thing that went wrong with any consistency was the cam chain tensioner (CCT) on the 06-08 bikes.

Listen for a whirring, buzzing, metallic sound between about 3-8k RPMs that most people say is heard best when the bike is cold and the engine is unloaded. Many people have fixed it already and it's not an expensive fix at that.

sassafras

·
Registered
260 Posts
welcome to the forum! you're right though, sw virginia has some great twisties....i'm planning a trip out there later this spring! some would say the exup valve is another common component that will give you trouble, but there's a couple good how-to's that will give you the option to take care of that should you feel the need.

·
Registered
313 Posts
Welcome to the forum, I went from an '07 SV1000 to my current '07 675. You won't regret the change. The biggest difference is how small and light the 675 is compared the the SV, I loved my SV...but I like my 675 better!! Especially for the track (and twisties when is was still a street bike).

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for the replies, guys.