Triumph 675 Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
832 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
To give you a background....I am a general manager for a 126 room hotel in town. We recently had to fire an associate....which meant we also had to fill that now empty position. On Tuesday afternoon, around 3PM - I posted a position on Craigslist. It is now Thursday, about 12:30....hasn't even been 48 hours! Thus far, I have received about 150 resumes!!! A couple of things worth mentioning.....

- If you have NO experience in the field that we are requesting, no need to apply.
- If you send your resume 2 or 3 times for the same job....it makes me wonder if you even pay attention. Or if you are just sending it to every listing on Craigslist.
- If you are too lazy to introduce yourself in the email...."Hi, my name is Joe Schmo, and...." chances are, I don't want to get to know you.
- If you don't have Microsoft Word, Word Perfect, or alike....please ask someone that does. Then create a professional looking resume. If your resume is made in Windows Notepad format....chances are that you are not all that computer savvy. (Which is a requirement for this job.)
- What makes you unique? Why should I hire you? In at least 100 of the 150 emails I received....the applicants had put "I am a people person". Well, I better hope so....because you'll be working with people!!! The absolute best thing I've seen thus far was a girl that called herself "Superhero". Now THAT'S a person I want to interview!!!!
- PLEASE, make sure you check the spelling of your resume!!! Most word processing programs have spell check....USE IT!!!!
- Leave pictures of yourself out. If you are ugly, chances are....let's leave that one alone.