Triumph 675 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1,167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I was all set and had the OEM filter in the cart when another track day 675er mentioned they got a BMC race air filter. I hadn't even thought about it but does any one know of any fancy air filter that track day or racers like?

If there is one do I need to re tune the bike? I'm thinking the answer to that question is no as I've never heard about needing a tune from a simple air filter...but who knows, I never heard of any specialized "race" air filters.

EDIT: The bike I need an air filter for is a track only 07 675 (stock).
:scooter:

·
Registered
8 Posts
I have a K&N Air Filter on my 2010 675. No tuning needed. I am not a mechanic but from my understanding you only need to re tune when installing a new exhaust.

·
Registered
631 Posts
DNA does one too, just a re-badge (kinda) of a K&N or a BMC.
Get one, chuck a new can on the rear and a new tune, you'll love it!
The paper ones suck, try breathing through a wet sock…

·
Registered
4,176 Posts
There are scads of threads on this topic but you'll find that unless you ride your bike on the track only then the stock filter is best because it filters more thoroughly.

·
Registered
1,480 Posts
We use MWR HE filters on all our race bike and the normal MWR on road bikes. The HE filter has a baffle over the top to distrupt air turbulance and help cut noise. Sounds like BS but we have to say it works and the top riders at last years TT races all won with these filters.
www.racingairfilters.eu/

·
Registered
4,176 Posts
We use MWR HE filters on all our race bike and the normal MWR on road bikes. The HE filter has a baffle over the top to distrupt air turbulance and help cut noise. Sounds like BS but we have to say it works and the top riders at last years TT races all won with these filters.
www.racingairfilters.eu/
Any US distributors?

·
Registered
4,176 Posts

·
Registered
1,167 Posts