low side crash and throttle response. - Triumph675.Net Forums
General 675 discussion Anything related to the Triumph 675 model(s), and miscellaneous motorcycle talk.

post #1 of 20 Old 08-19-19, 20:57 Thread Starter
Shaxy

low side crash and throttle response.

Hoping to get some help breaking down a lowside crash at the track.

TLDR: I lost rear traction on my first lap in the first corner and I really don't think it was all me. Throttle response is funny and previous owner crashed it in the same way when he bought it.

So I bought I a 13' 675r track bike to move into the 600 class for racing. I've been riding for 8 years on the street, track days and racing in the 300 class for about a year now. I came across a deal for a 675R and thought it would be a good machine to move up to middleweight. Everyone online raves about this machine, but no one in the paddock in the mid-Atlantic knows anything about them, and they're a rare sight in my short experience. Anyways, my first time on the bike on track the rear lost traction - on my first practice session lap in a hairpin exit corner, and I'm kinda stumped as to why. I'm by no means an expert but I'm not exactly new to this either. I'm usually pretty hyper critical of myself and know when I make a mistake but i'm not convinced this one was all me. Needless to say I was pretty shocked, embarrassed, frustrated and retired for the weekend as my confidence was pretty rattled and I dint need to put anyone else at risk if I couldn't keep it together at pace. Heres the details:

1. First time at Summit Main. Watched a lot of video and did some track walks on a bicycle. Not my first time showing up and racing at a track I don't know. Crashed at turn 1.
2. First time on track with a 600 but by no means my first time on a 600. First time with brembos and Ohlins though ;)
3. Bike is mostly stock minus ergos, crash protection, and a werkes exhaust that is now nicely rashed. 5k miles on the motor.