immobilizer Light - Page 2 - Triumph675.Net Forums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 20 Old 08-19-16, 17:35
Videoguy
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Denville
Posts: 208
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Are you still having issues, or has it sorted itself out? If there is still a problem you may need to get a dealer to reload your tune back onto the bike. Not sure, you may want to search "using kill switch". There have also been a few cases of a bad immobilize unit, but in either case stop using the kill switch.

2013 Street Triple R!
Videoguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 20 Old 08-19-16, 20:09 Thread Starter
Momo1970
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Fremont
Posts: 101
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
I didn't ride the bike this week, but I started it every day with both keys without an issue. I will never use the kill switch again, but I sure hope it was a one time thing.
Momo1970 is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 09-05-16, 22:16
orionengnr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Amazing. Now a kill switch is permanent.

Leave it to he Brits to come up with something like this.

I am a long-time Ducati owner, so I am familiar with some of the sufferings brought on by the immobiliser.

But this is a new one on me. Maybe owning both a Ducati and a Triumph is more than I can stand.

We will see.
orionengnr is offline  
 
post #14 of 20 Old 09-05-16, 22:32
MacBandit
Super Moderator
 
MacBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 11,843
Thanks: 21
Thanked 390 Times in 333 Posts
Garage
It's called an emergency kill switch or was by most brands at one point BMW has always had the same recommendations don't use it unless it's an emergency. For one it leaves power one to some circuits and people who get in a habit of using it sometimes forget to turn off the key.
MacBandit is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 09-07-16, 01:21 Thread Starter
Momo1970
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Fremont
Posts: 101
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
It's complete BS. Over 25 bikes from 10 different brands (some with only kill switch ) and I never experienced something like this. BTW since it happened I switched to my #2 key, and never used the kill switch again. So far so good, but there is a crack in my trust in my STRx
Momo1970 is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 09-10-16, 20:09 Thread Starter
Momo1970
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Fremont
Posts: 101
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Happened again today. At the end of my ride, right at the gas station. Emobilizer light is on , and I cannot start the bike. I disconnected/ reconnected the battery , and still can't start the bike. Left the bike at the gas station, and went to the nearest coffee shop. After half an hour , I came back put the key in the switch, no emobilizer light and the bike started right away. Rode it directly to the dealer.
Momo1970 is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 09-10-16, 20:18
gmorgens
Junior Member
 
gmorgens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 27
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Garage
What year did they start putting chips in? I have an '08, I think mine is just a regular key though.

It is what it is...
gmorgens is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 09-12-16, 19:52 Thread Starter
Momo1970
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Fremont
Posts: 101
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
I think they added imobilizer with the 13 model. I wish they didn't :-(
Momo1970 is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 09-15-16, 21:02 Thread Starter
Momo1970
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Fremont
Posts: 101
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Dealer confirmed the issue is with the transmitter antenna. New complete switch unit was approved under warranty.
Lucky it happened while the bike is under warranty.
Momo1970 is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 08-21-19, 23:08
Kenneth Lambert
Junior Member
 
Kenneth Lambert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi,
I am having this exact problem on my 2014 Daytona. I've replaced the ECU and immobilizer but the problem hasn't gone away. Dealership is having trouble tracking down the problem. What parts got replaced?
Kenneth Lambert is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph675.Net Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome