Triumph 675 Forums banner

2013 Daytona 675r cylinder head questions

3K views 10 replies 4 participants last post by  samwise_i 
#1 ·
I am new to the triumph world and I am getting a Daytona with a cracked head. I am in the process of getting the engine out and replacing the head and had some questions about it.
1) Are the headbolts one-time use bolts and if so, where can I get them?
2) Are there ARP equivalent bolts available?
3) Anything special I would need to know about the engine before breaking it apart?
4) Where is a good place to get a gasket set that doesn't cost an arm and a leg or is that just nature of the beast? What is the difference between the 2012 and the 2013 engines? I can find gaskets all day long for a reasonable price for the 2012 engine but not the 2013.
5) Is timing the engine a special process or is it consist of putting the engine on cylinder 1 TDC and lining up marks on the cam and crank and putting it on?

#2 ·
1. The studs can be reused. The nuts and washers need to be replaced. Hermy's is a vendor on this site and offers excellent service & prices https://www.triumphestore.com/
2. N/A
3. Get a service manual
4. See #1. Yes, they're expensive unfortunately. The valve cover gasket is reusable, so the gasket set from Triumph that includes that gasket seems like a waste. I would open it up, see what you need, and order gaskets individually. 2012 & 2013 are very different engines. 99% likely they don't share a gasket set.
5. See #3. There is a special cam timing tool you need.

#3 · (Edited)