06 Daytona Misfiring 4-5k revs - Triumph675.Net Forums
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 01-21-20, 01:55 Thread Starter
SamMac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
06 Daytona Misfiring 4-5k revs

Hi guys,

So I bought a 2006 Daytona 675 16k miles a few months ago and have been suffering a sluggish, bogging down issue with it.

When accelerating with light to moderate throttle, the bike seems to misfire or bog down between 4-5k revs. I have to open the throttle more to get it past this bogging down area. From idle to 4K and from 5k all the way to red line appears to run perfectly.

When I bought it the guy said it had been set up for track racing. It has a power commander III and an aftermarket exhaust, from what I can tell that is all but maybe other mods have been carried out on the past such as exup removed but I’m not sure.

Because the bike runs well at all over revs including right into red line, I’m assuming it must be a sensor or the Map as if it was spark, air or fuel then it would most likely develop problems at idle or at the top end.

Any suggestions would be great
SamMac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-21-20, 02:21
Stephen Pilsworth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sounds like an adaption issue caused by the TPS sensor. If you have access to tuneecu and an odb2 cable you can reset the adaption.

Once reset start the bike and leave to idle from cold till the fan kicks in. Key off then on and see if that fixes, if not repeat the above stage again.

Sent from my Nokia 7.1 using Tapatalk
Stephen Pilsworth is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-21-20, 17:32 Thread Starter
SamMac
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is it possible to do this with the power commander IIl? If not, do you know if you need to buy an OBD2 sensor compatible with the TuneEcu or do most Bluetooth OBD2 sensors work? I read that the Android version is the only compatible system that works now
SamMac is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 Old 01-22-20, 02:32
Stephen Pilsworth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Not sure if you can do it with a power commander.

I know the windows version can be a pain at times, though I know the Android version gets updated so it works better

Best OBD2 cables are from lonelec which you'll find on eBay, never had an issue with that brand.

You can try and force the adaption by starting the bike from cold and leaving to idle for 20 mins without any touching if the throttle. Once done just open the throttle to 5k and see if it wobbles

Sent from my Nokia 7.1 using Tapatalk
Stephen Pilsworth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph675.Net Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome