Cranks but doesn't start (CPS??) - Triumph675.Net Forums
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 Old 06-27-20, 09:41 Thread Starter
iamspeed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cranks but doesn't start (CPS??)

Hello everyone,

Last year my bike (2011 street triple R) didn't start only cranked, long story short I measured the cps and found that it had much higher ohms than expected so I changed it for some ebay cps (i cut the old one and resoldered the new one - plus i put two small heat shrinking rubber tubes on the bare wires so the soldering is covered and the wires couldn't touch).

Last week my bike again did crank but didn't start (no symptoms before this) I went through all the normal stuff battery, tryied starting fluid (no luck there) and I found there was no spark. I hooked up my bluetooth obd2 reader with tuneecu and found no error codes, but strangely the tuneecu shows 0 rpm during cranking.

I measured the cps and got 211 ohms which is good (and this is 1 year old sensor - seems like this isn't the problem - but the rpm says otherwise?). I measured the cps ~volts when not connected to the ecu during cranking and I got around 3V, but when i hooked it up to the ecu and cranked I got almost zero ~volts from the senzor. Weird, can anyone measure how many ~volts does the cps produce when cranking and connected to the ecu?

I continued by pulling the stator cover off and found that one head shrinking rubber tube on the cps wire is missing, however no shortcircuit because there is no way that wire would touch anything and the other wire still has the tube.

Any tips? It seems like the cps again, but I am not sure anymore since it reads correct ohms?

Last edited by iamspeed; 06-27-20 at 12:31.
iamspeed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 06-29-20, 10:47
cdenley
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 232
Thanks: 29
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Garage
Not sure if this could be causing your issues, but you should have spliced the new CPS outside of your motor. It is a pain to do, but you need to snake the wire through the rubber seal. Otherwise, you can replace the stator and CPS as a set.

Chris Denley
CCS Midwest Amateur #212
fb.me/DenleyRacing
cdenley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph675.Net Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome