Race ECU (2nd Gen) and Race Harness -- TuneECU? - Page 2 - Triumph675.Net Forums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 25 Old 04-30-17, 00:46 Thread Starter
Expatbrit
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well... Had a bit more time to play with it. The cable (possibly not a real Lonelec -- possible issue #1) appears to connect fine. Can read diagnostics from the ECU. However, I get the infamous 'unknown map type' error. I have it listing '90003' as the map (which I can't find anywhere -- I assume it's the racemap?). I'm unwilling to try and load a new map since I have a PCV piggybacking right now, but I think the ignition is pretty far advanced for race gas and I'm running pump since I'm not making nearly the power I should. I /think/ my only option is to drop a new map on it and start tuning from there, either with the PCV or with tuneECU. Is this correct?
Expatbrit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 25 Old 04-30-17, 12:57 Thread Starter
Expatbrit
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by -LG- View Post
Have stock ECU's in them now but had a race ECU on my 08 a few months back and can confirm that is is downloadable and able to be read with tuneecu. Also this ECU is up for sale at the moment
Having got the bike back -- I believe that /is/ the second gen ECU (on a first gen 675). At least, I have
the same part #. Good to know that -- for sure -- TuneECU will write to it, though I have a PCV piggyback now at the advice of a couple of dealers.

However -- still not right, so want to at least look at the map; not willing to start with trying to overwrite
on my own, so asking the Internet for advice. What could POSSIBLY go wrong?!

@-LG- --don't suppose you know what map was on that? (I have 900003, which appears to be ... bizarre). What map did you write to it with Tune ECU?
Expatbrit is offline  
post #13 of 25 Old 04-30-17, 18:43
-LG-
Member
 
-LG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Geelong
Posts: 264
Thanks: 39
Thanked 36 Times in 31 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Expatbrit View Post
Having got the bike back -- I believe that /is/ the second gen ECU (on a first gen 675). At least, I have

the same part #. Good to know that -- for sure -- TuneECU will write to it, though I have a PCV piggyback now at the advice of a couple of dealers.



However -- still not right, so want to at least look at the map; not willing to start with trying to overwrite

on my own, so asking the Internet for advice. What could POSSIBLY go wrong?!



@-LG- --don't suppose you know what map was on that? (I have 900003, which appears to be ... bizarre). What map did you write to it with Tune ECU?


Am at work now but will look at the map on it when I get home. It is saved to my hard drive. Best advice I can give is to read the map that is currently on your ECU and save it to your computer or external hard drive. Then at least you have a backup you can revert back to if something goes wrong.
-LG- is offline  
 
post #14 of 25 Old 05-01-17, 19:07 Thread Starter
Expatbrit
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by -LG- View Post
Am at work now but will look at the map on it when I get home. It is saved to my hard drive. Best advice I can give is to read the map that is currently on your ECU and save it to your computer or external hard drive. Then at least you have a backup you can revert back to if something goes wrong.
Yeah. Except that since it's 'unknown map type' I don't think I can even archive it with TuneECU.
Expatbrit is offline  
post #15 of 25 Old 05-02-17, 06:21
-LG-
Member
 
-LG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Geelong
Posts: 264
Thanks: 39
Thanked 36 Times in 31 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Expatbrit View Post
Yeah. Except that since it's 'unknown map type' I don't think I can even archive it with TuneECU.


Shouldn't be unknown. Should show up with the map number when you load the map onto tune ecu. The map that is standard on my ECU is 900005. See the picture attached for where it will show your map #.

-LG- is offline  
post #16 of 25 Old 05-02-17, 10:24 Thread Starter
Expatbrit
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by -LG- View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Expatbrit View Post
Yeah. Except that since it's 'unknown map type' I don't think I can even archive it with TuneECU.


Shouldn't be unknown. Should show up with the map number when you load the map onto tune ecu. The map that is standard on my ECU is 900005. See the picture attached for where it will show your map #.

Yeah. It's 900003. TuneECU called it 'unknown map type' when I tried to open it. I've obtained the hex versions of both 900001 and 900005 now and am going to attempt again this evening. If not, I will just write 900001 to it and then Dyno time to tweak it once I know it's a solid base pump gas map.

I am afraid he issue is cam timing, though. There is a huge midrange hole and it falls apart at 10k. Was hoping it avoid pulling the valve cover, but life is a beach, as they say.
Expatbrit is offline  
post #17 of 25 Old 05-04-17, 15:04 Thread Starter
Expatbrit
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Closing the loop. 900005 loads fine, as per LG. Thanks to help from JD Hord -- can't recommend him enough.
Expatbrit is offline  
post #18 of 25 Old 06-03-17, 00:08 Thread Starter
Expatbrit
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Expatbrit View Post
Closing the loop. 900005 loads fine, as per LG. Thanks to help from JD Hord -- can't recommend him enough.
Looks like the issue is probably fueling. Got stuck on the map issue; suspect clogged fuel pump. Will know soon
Expatbrit is offline  
post #19 of 25 Old 06-03-17, 04:14
-LG-
Member
 
-LG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Geelong
Posts: 264
Thanks: 39
Thanked 36 Times in 31 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Expatbrit View Post
Looks like the issue is probably fueling. Got stuck on the map issue; suspect clogged fuel pump. Will know soon


Good to hear you got the map issue sorted. Good luck finding that fuel gremlin
-LG- is offline  
post #20 of 25 Old 06-04-17, 00:28 Thread Starter
Expatbrit
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks!

It has not been altogether positive. Definitely not the pump (though I now have a nice spare tank, thanks to @detroit675). No blocked lines. Chasing an air leak and think we have it down.

I'll know Tuesday. It was making 60hp today on the Dyno!
Expatbrit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph675.Net Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome