How does one get to the 30A fuse? - Triumph675.Net Forums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 01-23-11, 13:11 Thread Starter
eldy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How does one get to the 30A fuse?

Do I have to lift the tank? I found the spare in the holder but can't find or remove the black rubber weather guard to look for the working fuse.
eldy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 01-23-11, 14:43
DecepticonDon
BOTM Marshall
 
DecepticonDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: near Savannah, GA
Posts: 3,511
Thanks: 43
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
DecepticonDon is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 01-23-11, 21:44 Thread Starter
eldy
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is the fuse in the picture the main fuse or just a spare?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 2.JPG
Views:	253
Size:	258.8 KB
ID:	20654  
eldy is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 Old 01-23-11, 21:58
DecepticonDon
BOTM Marshall
 
DecepticonDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: near Savannah, GA
Posts: 3,511
Thanks: 43
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
DecepticonDon is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 01-24-11, 00:20 Thread Starter
eldy
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Aww crap.

What do you recommend I check next?

I went for a ride and turned the bike off for ten minutes then tried to start it again. I pressed the starter button and the engine started to turn over when suddenly all the power cut off. No dash, lights, horn, anything.

None of the fuses are blown and the battery is fine.
eldy is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 01-24-11, 05:54
Ruby Racing
BOTM Winner
 
Ruby Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Posts: 2,539
Thanks: 0
Thanked 44 Times in 38 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by eldy View Post
Is the fuse in the picture the main fuse or just a spare?
Quote:
Originally Posted by DecepticonDon View Post
that's the fuse
Sorry to correct you Decepticon Don, but that is NOT the fuse, it is the spare fuse for the starter solenoid.

Eldy, you will probably need to remove the tank to gain access to the fuse, as it is located under that transparent plastic cover at the front of the starter solenoid. I'd agree that the fuse is probably blown from what you have said. If it is blown then finding out why it blew could be difficult.


To read about the transformation click > Project Trixie Transformation

For comparison photo of old R/R with new improved R/R under recall of 2012 click > R/R Comparison Photos
Ruby Racing is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 01-24-11, 07:56
DecepticonDon
BOTM Marshall
 
DecepticonDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: near Savannah, GA
Posts: 3,511
Thanks: 43
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
My bad! I thought that was it.

Don't fret about removing the tank, its a piece of cake.
DecepticonDon is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 01-24-11, 09:16
williamr
Member
 
williamr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 251
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It's actually the main fuse for all of the bike - not just the starter solenoid. (That's the real fuse of course - not the spare).

Rob
williamr is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 01-24-11, 11:08
Ruby Racing
BOTM Winner
 
Ruby Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Posts: 2,539
Thanks: 0
Thanked 44 Times in 38 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by williamr View Post
It's actually the main fuse for all of the bike - not just the starter solenoid. (That's the real fuse of course - not the spare).

Rob
It certainly is. If that blows, NOTHING will work. How do I know? Er, don't ask.....................


To read about the transformation click > Project Trixie Transformation

For comparison photo of old R/R with new improved R/R under recall of 2012 click > R/R Comparison Photos
Ruby Racing is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 01-24-11, 11:35
MacBandit
Super Moderator
 
MacBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 11,801
Thanks: 20
Thanked 383 Times in 328 Posts
Garage
You don't need to remove the tank. Just remove the rear pivot bolt and lift the back of the tank a little bit.
MacBandit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph675.Net Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome