Seized Exup Valve - Triumph675.Net Forums
General 675 discussion Anything related to the Triumph 675 model(s), and miscellaneous motorcycle talk.

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old 09-25-20, 09:02 Thread Starter
MGraham
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Seized Exup Valve

Hello, I am a new member to triumph675. I have a 2009 Daytona 675 which has a seized Exup valve. At start up the servo makes a whirring sound as it tries to open and close the valve once to find the limit positions, but it can only move fractionally to take the small slack in the cables. Is this damaging to the servo, as it will be a while before I can free the valve.
I am thinking of investing in the Android version of TUNE ECU, I think I can disable the valve this way. Has anyone experience of doing this and will the bike need a new fuel map, it has the Arrow end can and Quickshifter that Triumph fitted back in 2011. Any advice would be much appreciated
MGraham is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 09-25-20, 22:56
mpusch
Member
 
mpusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Western NY
Posts: 723
Thanks: 58
Thanked 63 Times in 56 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MGraham View Post
Hello, I am a new member to triumph675. I have a 2009 Daytona 675 which has a seized Exup valve. At start up the servo makes a whirring sound as it tries to open and close the valve once to find the limit positions, but it can only move fractionally to take the small slack in the cables. Is this damaging to the servo, as it will be a while before I can free the valve.
I am thinking of investing in the Android version of TUNE ECU, I think I can disable the valve this way. Has anyone experience of doing this and will the bike need a new fuel map, it has the Arrow end can and Quickshifter that Triumph fitted back in 2011. Any advice would be much appreciated
If you're going to disable it, I'd probably just remove it. Should be plenty of threads on here about doing so. I ended up just welding in a new piece, but you don't need to go that far. Yeah, you'd probably need to tune it though. I noticed a lack of power in the lower rpms until it was tuned.
mpusch is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 10-14-20, 21:41
motociclista
Member
 
motociclista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 294
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
As mpusch stated, best approach is just to remove it and then use Tune ECU to remove the error light. There are threads on here about how to do it. I know because I used them myself to fix my first-gen Daytona when the valve started malfunctioning. Remove a few pounds of weight, doesn't affect performance at all. And if I can follow the advice of others here and do it, then anyone can because I am not renowned for my mechanical abilities.

Whitehorse Press is getting out of the publishing business and I'm closing out the last copies of my book, The Ride So Far, for $10 with free shipping in the U.S. See more: sample chapter and my motorcycle blog, including the story of my Daytona.
motociclista is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph675.Net Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome