Tuning Options - What to use? - Triumph675.Net Forums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 12-13-12, 17:27 Thread Starter
Optima
Junior Member
 
Optima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tuning Options - What to use?

Hey guys,

I'm looking into tuning my Streety R to get a few extra ponies out of her.

Anybody have any experience doing this? British-Customs has Tuneboy, however it apparently doesn't work on 2010+ models.

Anybody able to recommend a tuneable ecu and maybe add some info on their experience?

2012 Triumph Street Triple R - - -
Optima is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 12-13-12, 17:36
Orangeman
BOTM Winner
 
Orangeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: S FL / USA
Posts: 793
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
Our ECU is programmable for free....you just need to download the program and a $6 cable...

http://www.triumphrat.net/ecm-and-fi...8-tuneecu.html


EDIT: This all ends with the 2013 and its locked "tamper evident" ECM. DO NOT use TuneECU on a '13.

.

.. My Bike.. ...has a new owner :(
Orangeman is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 12-13-12, 17:45
jcp
Member
 
jcp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: St Albans UK
Posts: 452
Thanks: 6
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Tune ECU (and other systems) work fine on all 675s up to the new 2013 machines. In a regrettable but understandable move the new model is said to have a protected unit. This is a move to be compliant with not yet in force European union proposed legislation and to the most extreme control freak/tree huggers worldwide. It may also make it easier for Triumph to force purchasers into their franchised service network. If you want to make more power from a 2012 check out orangeman and Macbandit's thoughts. In the UK the man to read up on is Tony who runs the Triumph race bike series and who has posted Q&A sessions organised by the UK Daytona forum www.675.cc.
A decent full system, Daytona cams, increasing compression will all help but only really if you re-map.
Reducing weight is a useful exercise and getting the suspension set up by a genuine expert is a pre-requisite.
jcp is online now  
post #4 of 14 Old 12-13-12, 18:04 Thread Starter
Optima
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
Optima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orangeman View Post
Our ECU is programmable for free....you just need to download the program and a $6 cable...

http://www.triumphrat.net/ecm-and-fi...8-tuneecu.html


EDIT: This all ends with the 2013 and its locked "tamper evident" ECM. DO NOT use TuneECU on a '13.

.
I have worked with/on tuning cars before and I do have access to a dynojet (for free I might add... ;) )

What sort of recommendations do you have for tuning the 675?

edit: Does it tune in a similar manner to the car? Any pre-packaged (safe) tunes you would recommend? Performance wise all I have is the Arrow Low Boy exhaust, but I plan on getting a K&N Race Filter. I believe the Dealer flashed my ECU when they put on the pipe, but I want to eek any more power I can out of it safely...

Thanks in advance!

2012 Triumph Street Triple R - - -
Optima is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 12-13-12, 20:01
Nastybutler
BOTM Winner
 
Nastybutler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Seward's Folly
Posts: 2,511
Thanks: 223
Thanked 80 Times in 75 Posts
Removing the grill over the air intake underneath the headlights is supposed to give you approx. 1 HP more.

So is attaching the crankshaft breather tube to the SIA system (after the valve, not before it) instead of the airbox, being sure to plug the airbox where the hose was. There's a thread on the SAI removal that has more details on that.

Eek away.

2012 Street Triple (Trinity) - Phantom Black
2014 Audi A5 - Scuba Blue

Trinity's Build Thread
Nastybutler is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 12-14-12, 08:01
Ruby Racing
BOTM Winner
 
Ruby Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Posts: 2,353
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcp View Post
Reducing weight is a useful exercise and getting the suspension set up by a genuine expert is a pre-requisite.
If you just want to go faster then the above should be your first port of call. Throw some decent suspension at it, get it set up properly, your confidence will improve and therefore you will go faster.


To read about the transformation click > Project Trixie Transformation

For comparison photo of old R/R with new improved R/R under recall of 2012 click > R/R Comparison Photos
Ruby Racing is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 12-14-12, 12:09
Nastybutler
BOTM Winner
 
Nastybutler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Seward's Folly
Posts: 2,511
Thanks: 223
Thanked 80 Times in 75 Posts
Wow, dinhmenh. I was just going to say that. You beat me to it.

2012 Street Triple (Trinity) - Phantom Black
2014 Audi A5 - Scuba Blue

Trinity's Build Thread
Nastybutler is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 12-19-12, 22:11
vrptstyly
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Roselle Park
Posts: 74
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is Triumph going to offer something to tune the 2013 themselves? I'm having a hard time getting any info on it. Probably give them a call one day soon.

Seems a bit counter-intuitive to offer an exhaust, but nothing to tune for it.
vrptstyly is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 12-20-12, 00:13
MacBandit
Senior Member
 
MacBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 10,282
Thanks: 2
Thanked 140 Times in 126 Posts
Garage
Using the factory diagnostic box you can still load pre-made maps. As for custom tuning there will always be aftermarket units like Bazzaz. As for factory options I'm pretty sure they'll offer the Race kit parts still.
MacBandit is online now  
post #10 of 14 Old 12-20-12, 00:41
vrptstyly
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Roselle Park
Posts: 74
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacBandit View Post
Using the factory diagnostic box you can still load pre-made maps. As for custom tuning there will always be aftermarket units like Bazzaz. As for factory options I'm pretty sure they'll offer the Race kit parts still.
Thanks, I found this while doing some research on the topic. http://www.triumphrat.net/ecm-and-fi...eecu-user.html

Makes sense, similar to what other OEMs have done. I thought it was something totally different and almost malicious on Triumph's part.

Would you know if you need the Race ECU for the TRACS kit, they sell one without it, but puretriumph says it requires the Race ECU. Seems a bit inconsistent, or is it just for additional features, the pit lane limiter, etc...

Thanks!!
vrptstyly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph675.Net Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome