just ordered these for my "R".. Any track guys use them? - Triumph675.Net Forums
Home Forum Browse Members Calendar Register Today!  

Not A Member Yet? Register today and become part of the community.
Go Back   Triumph675.Net Forums > Daytona 675 & Street Triple 675 Global Forums > Modifications > All Things Suspension

Old 10-22-12, 13:29   #1
dubguy85

Default just ordered these for my "R".. Any track guys use them?

http://www.shop.kyleusa.com/category...categoryId=178

I've heard from many people (rider discount, rsracecraft, disalvo etc), that without aftermarket triples, these are a must.. anyone use them? Good, bad? Right now my forks are flush, but I'm going to drop them a little more when these come in.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-23-12, 07:53   #2
Ruby Racing
BOTM Winner

I have no personal experience, just something I read once. The author didn't think they were a good idea as you will be clamping something that is screwed into the fork top. They considered this not as secure as the yoke/triple tree clamping to a very structurally solid fork tube, because you are relying on the strength of the thread to a certain extent.

So if your yoke was clamped to just this extension slug, the braking forces are going to be working on the thread and not the whole of the fork tube. This probably isn't going to be as strong as the fork tube. I can see the logic, but as I said, it's just something I read once and mention it so you can consider if it's valid point.

To read about the transformation click > Project Trixie Transformation

For comparison photo of old R/R with new improved R/R under recall of 2012 click > R/R Comparison Photos

Old 10-23-12, 16:42   #3
Noodles

I don't think our bikes need that much of an extension... at the most, you'll be running the forks no more than 3mm below the top of the tripple clamp. Most track guys are quite happy with them being flush.

Nuno!

http://s21.photobucket.com/albums/b294/Noodles_771/