How To: Measure Valve Clearances - Triumph675.Net Forums
Home Forum Browse Members Calendar Register Today!  

Not A Member Yet? Register today and become part of the community.
Go Back   Triumph675.Net Forums > Daytona 675 & Street Triple 675 Global Forums > Maintenance and repair > How To's

Old 01-11-09, 00:49   #1
usnawolfe

Send a message via AIM to usnawolfe
Default How To: Measure Valve Clearances

These are some pictures I took a while back when I measured my valves clearances.....figure I'd see if I could make a write-up out of them. Keep in mind this is my first time checking valve clearances, but I was armed with a decent array of tools and the factory manual, so I felt confident I could get through it. Any way here it goes:

1. Take off side fairings (or upper sharkskinz fairing in my case).

Nothing fancy Here, just undress the bike since it makes access to everything much easier.

2. Remove Tank

Remove the two bolts with a 5mm allen key, then the rear tank bolt with a 8mm socket. Then use the bolt's threads to "grab" onto the long metal spacer the bolt was just in to remove the spacer. Next I tilt the tank of its side (if there's a good deal of fuel, it will start to leak from the hoses attached to it, so be quick) and disconnect the two black hoses, two electrical connections, and fuel line. There's a good write up on this on the site if you need pictures, but it's pretty straight forward.

3. Remove Airbox

Disconnect all the electrical connections on the airbox. Should be four of them. 3 on top and 1 on the rear side (also, there's an airhose attached to that underneath that last connection.