Triumph 675 Forums banner

Jacket suggestions

12K views 25 replies 13 participants last post by  Gzblack2 
#1 ·
Hey guys,

I've been riding my new to me 2012 street triple for a few months now and I absolutely love it! I've had a revit ignition 2 jacket for a bit over a year now, and it's nice, fairly versatile, and thanks to me losing about 40lbs, two sizes too big. I rode a cruiser before and a little big never seemed to matter, but now I really feel the wind catch me once in a while and I know I need something that fits snugger.

I live in Los Angeles and commute year round. No track days in my future (at least not that I can see) but I do ride the canyons. Trying to keep it under $500-600, but safety and fit def come first. Is dainese or alpinestars the way to go absolutely? Leather or textile? I'd love to hear what you guys have to say.

Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#2 ·
check out TJ at riders discount for the best forum prices

at a 500-600 range you will be fine pretty much anything you choose.
i have ridden with the AGV sport dragon leather jacket for almost 2 years now.
it has done it all for me, but gets hot as ballz in the summer

i am going with this
https://www.ridersdiscount.com/alpin...et-2013-141861
and will have it next week... can give you an update with riding conditions in a few weeks.

also check out
https://www.ridersdiscount.com/alpin...-jacket-221997
this is the 'higher end' version.

both will be great late spring, summer, early fall jackets.

And revzilla is the place to go to research gear. the gear guides and video break downs are awesome. a lot of information presented very well

hope that helps

#3 ·
I've always a been huge fan of leather since it's cow skin! That stuff is durable as hell! I know textile is getting better with abrasion resistance but leather can't be beat...my .02. I currently have the best of both worlds with Alpinestars SMX Airflow jacket. Leather in the impact areas with mesh in the body.

#4 ·