Triumph 675 Forums banner

New to motorcycles and need advice on gear.

3K views 18 replies 11 participants last post by  Ffemt 
#1 ·
I'm new to motorcycle world and need some advice on riding gear. I'm pretty sure I'm going to get the shoei RF-1200. What are everyone's experiences with this helmet? I'm also looking looking for a good jacket to wear in the summer.

Thanks,

#3 ·
as far as jackets make SURE you wear one!! This is my first summer with a leather jacket and I'm already regretting it and it hasn't even gotten really hot here (southern Louisiana). I am probably going to get something mesh very soon, before i die of a heat stroke.

Dainese is a great brand. If you want something cheap but decent for beginners, Sedici makes some cool stuff. You don't really have to spend a thousand dollars on a helmet or a jacket to get something good. AGV is a good helmet brand and they are on the cheaper side of things. I just picked up an AGV k3 SV and I love it. Its much quieter than the HJC helmet i had, and only a few bucks more. You can't go wrong with Alpinestars gear, but I stay away from them just for personal preferences.

#5 ·
I'm wearing an Alpinestars mesh jacket; and after four years and a slow speed crash, it's still fine, not torn anywhere. But their new designs are too gaudy for my taste. My next jacket is a Rev'it GTR air... But for weekend rides (or any high speed jaunts) I still recommend wearing leather...

My next helmet will also be an RF1200. Currently wearing a Qwest... But like the others have said, it all depends on your head shape. I myself wont fit in an AGV or Bell.

#6 ·
Mesh jacket for summer riding for sure.
There are some nicer ones in the $300 range that have zip in liners which make them a good 3 season jacket.
The newer jackets by RevIt have a newer thinner more flexible armor as well, which is nice when you ride out and then are foced to wear your jacket while walking around, much less cumbersome.