Triumph 675 Forums banner

2009 Daytona 675 Won't Start

34K views 27 replies 12 participants last post by  sazbatz 
#1 ·
Hello everyone,

This is my first post, so please bear with me as I'm a noob to the Triumph 675 forums.

I'm posting here because I'm having some issues with my 2009 Triumph Daytona 675. It has about 10,000 miles on it, maybe a little less.

This past Winter it was put in storage, and I didn't have a battery tender on it during a majority of the season. As a resident of Illinois with winter's often dropping below 0 degrees Fahrenheit, I understand that this was a poor decision.

This Spring when I fired it up, I didn't have any problems. It was a little cold, but nothing out of the ordinary for the first start of the season.

But now that Summer is in full swing, I'm having some issues. I'm not a mechanical genius, so I'm going to do my best to describe the problem I'm having. Please bear with me.

So about a month ago when I went to start the bike, I turned the key to on, switched the power switch to on, and pressed my starter button. The engine didn't turn over, and the bike just made a mildly loud *click* sound. The sound reminded me of a dead battery. I flipped the power switch off, then back on, and tried starting again. The bike wouldn't do anything until the gas tank quit making the "venting" sound, but once that was done. It started right up. I took it for a 20 mile cruise to charge what I thought was a low battery. Every time since then, it's been doing the same thing. No start on the first try, but then after letting the gas tank "vent" on the second try, it would start right up. This was the case for about the past month. And now here is where it gets interesting...