Triumph 675 Forums banner

Considering a 675

5K views 53 replies 18 participants last post by  GoonerYoda 
#1 ·
Hello forum

I'm new to 675s although not new to bikes. I currently own a Yamaha r6(r), but I've always been fascinated with the 675 ever since I sat on one at the bike show some years back. I am considering picking a used one.

I understand that a 675 Is more labor intensive, I typically do all the basics myself like oil change and chain clean/tightening.

Are there any particular years to stay away from? Anyone go from a r6 to 675?

Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App

#4 ·
The major differences you will notice are: less vibrations than your R6, slimmer body, more midrange torque than you R6.

Valve clearance checks come sooner than your Yamaha, but other than that it is no different.
I used to own an '05 FZ6, and comparatively the 675 is far and away much easier to wrench on. Less fasteners and much more intuitive to take apart.

If you get an 06-07, make sure it has the fuel pump relay recall performed
06-09, regulator/rectifier recall.

#48 ·
Hello fellow Daytona shopper! Good luck!

Question for you. On your R6, how difficult is it to roll on the throttle smoothly? Daytona riders, I'm curious how your bikes are also. In the turns when I'm leaning pretty good I extend considerable effort into trying to be smooth (which slows me down by being distracting) with the throttle. Strangely enough, even though the R6 is so weak down low, you still get that little tiny burst of power on the initial pull. Now it's not scary or anything but:

1) I don't appreciate the bike not following my commands. I'm smooth, so should it.

2) When leaned over I'm subject to potential traction issues. I don't want anything taking traction away.

NOTES:

This problem seems to reside at lower RPMs, so a faster rider would not have them I think.