Triumph 675 Forums banner

Buying new bike - a little help?

4K views 26 replies 15 participants last post by  katanafreak 
#1 ·
Good Evening All,

I sold my bike to buy a boat a few months back,... I don't think the boat thing is going to happen. No place to store it in the winter, ALOT more expensive to maintain, ect...

I have had 2 Triumph Daytona 675s, one a 2009 and then a 2012. Loved the bikes! Best track bike I have ever had! worked ok on the street. The ergos were not the best for street riding. I was going to go out next weekend and pick myself up a 2015 675 when I got the urge to just take a look at other bikes and see if one catches my fancy. Well,... of course one did! This is where I need some advice from all you track guys and street guys too!

I am comparing a 2015 Triumph Daytona 675 and a 2015 Ducati Panigale 899.

Can you guys that have rode these bikes give me the pros and cons of the two? I know the triumphs very well actually, but I have zero experience with a Ducati. Let me know any and all experiences you guys have had with these two beautiful machines. I am trying to do all the research on these two bikes, but damn that Duc is sexy!

Let me know what you guys think of the two and what you would use and any issues you guys have had with these brands. Any and all info is helpful, I do love the 675s but that Duc is amazing, just want to make sure I don't buy the wrong bike because of looks.

Thanks All!!!

Attached Images
899.jpg
675.jpg

See less See more
#3 ·
I rode the 899 at a demo event, was though city streets so I can't comment much on handling, it was nice. The motor didn't seem as punchy as a 675. For a twin, the powerband was more high rpm than I expected, almost like a 4, and it seemed to rev slow.

Maybe a gearing change would help? I got on my STR afterwards and still felt I was on the right bike.

#4 ·