Triumph 675 Forums banner

Hitting a corner too hot

12K views 41 replies 25 participants last post by  RideorGolf 
#1 ·
I have about 2-3 years of riding experience (off and on) and I am comfortable with hanging off the bike and leaning into a corner. Recently, I took a small road trip to some canyons and I realized that I defiantly need to watch my speed. The road I drove on was curvy but still rated at 45mph with some 25-30mph curves. I tried not to hit the curves at above 50mph, but sometimes I would look down and notice that I hit a curve at 60mph. While taking a corner, I thought to myself that I was in it to hot as I could not see the other side of the curve and was scared that a car was going to pop out. After that curve I slowed down.

But now I'm questioning, what is the proper thing to do if you enter a corner too fast? Do you hit the brake, if so, which one? Do you pull off the throttle?

I usually just commit to the turn and keep the throttle steady; however, there could be unseen obstacles on a public road. I guess one could say not to speed, but even if you were going 45 and there was a moose mid turn, what would you do?

#2 ·
Grab every bit of that front brake and scream ALLLAAAHHHHH ACKBAR!

In reality. Check out sport rising techniques or twist of the wrist. I believe both books address that very question in far better words than I have
It's a two sided question. In some cases even if there is an obstruction, more lean and throttle is the only way to not wreck.
In others even, and quick but steady application of both front and back breaks as you lessen the throttle and stand the bike up to stop just in time

Reality = adrenaline epi, fear, sweaty hands, sun glare or headlights, rocks. Slick road, blah blah blah. Ride smarter
If you are asking this question, don't hit it so hard on those roads, take it to the track