2013 race ECU and harness - Page 2 - Triumph675.Net Forums
General 675 discussion Anything related to the Triumph 675 model(s), and miscellaneous motorcycle talk.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 16 Old 01-11-17, 14:44
hzhong456
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 34
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by *GT* View Post
I recently acquired a 2014 675 with race ECU and harness. The donor bike was an ABS model. My Bazzaz software is not reading the proper gear position. Initially I thought it was a defective Gear Position Sensor so I installed a new one. Unfortunately that didn't resolve my issue. I think the next logical step is to troubleshoot the speed sensor, except I have no idea where to find the damn thing! Can you tell me more about the "additional speed sensor?" Where to find it, what it looks like, etc. Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Edit: I pulled up the Race Manuel and found some information regarding the speed sensor. If you any of you have dealt with a similar issue please feel free to chime in.
Sorry, I didn't see this post until now. On a stock bike, the speed sensor signal is provided by the ABS system. Since the Race ECU removes ABS, a new speed sensor needs to be installed. I believe the picture that MGFChapin is showing is the correct location of the new speed sensor location if you have the race ECU.
hzhong456 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 16 Old 01-14-17, 20:51
*GT*
Junior Member
 
*GT*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Garage
No worries and thanks for chiming in. After I wrote the message I did some more research I and I located the new speed sensor that comes with the ABS race harness. After a long discussion with Bazzaaz tech support we think the problem lies within their harness or module.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2014 Triumph Daytona 675 (track)
2008 KTM 990 Super Duke R (street)
*GT* is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 01-20-17, 14:25
pick
Junior Member
 
pick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: WA
Posts: 31
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Garage
Is it possible to use the ABS race wiring harness with the stock ECU? I've got a 2016 675R (w/ABS) but am turning it into a dedicated track/race bike and if I can clean up the wiring a little (i.e. remove headlights, taillights, turn signals, etc.), I'd be in for that.

===
2016 675R (track-only)
OPRT | NWXPDTN
pick is offline  
 
post #14 of 16 Old 01-20-17, 14:29
MGFChapin
Senior Member
 
MGFChapin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,668
Thanks: 19
Thanked 136 Times in 121 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by pick View Post
Is it possible to use the ABS race wiring harness with the stock ECU? I've got a 2016 675R (w/ABS) but am turning it into a dedicated track/race bike and if I can clean up the wiring a little (i.e. remove headlights, taillights, turn signals, etc.), I'd be in for that.
No. The race harness needs a race ECU. The bike will crank over with a stock ECU and race harness, but the fuel pump won't do its job since the immobilizer and ABS pump are disconnected.
MGFChapin is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to MGFChapin For This Useful Post:
pick (01-20-17)
post #15 of 16 Old 01-20-17, 14:36
pick
Junior Member
 
pick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: WA
Posts: 31
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Garage
Ahh that makes sense. I'm not used to these techno-whiz bikes haha! Coming from a bare-bones race GSX-R that you could completely rewire with a few paperclips.

===
2016 675R (track-only)
OPRT | NWXPDTN
pick is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 01-20-17, 14:40
MGFChapin
Senior Member
 
MGFChapin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,668
Thanks: 19
Thanked 136 Times in 121 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by pick View Post
Ahh that makes sense. I'm not used to these techno-whiz bikes haha! Coming from a bare-bones race GSX-R that you could completely rewire with a few paperclips.
I hear you. I'm most recently coming off an SV650 that basically had a few wires to the dash, battery, ignition coils and injectors. That was about it. This 675 is like a Mars lander in comparison.
MGFChapin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph675.Net Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome