Exup value - Triumph675.Net Forums
General 675 discussion Anything related to the Triumph 675 model(s), and miscellaneous motorcycle talk.

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 01-03-13, 17:00 Thread Starter
Matthw76
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Strood
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exup value

Does any one know how to discount the exup value on a 2012 daytona I have the arrow can fitted with the arrow ecu map on the bike.

Is it just a case of getting under my bike and removing the cables from the value?

Thanks matt
Matthw76 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 01-03-13, 17:09
Moeman
Senior Member
 
Moeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: SW FL
Posts: 1,285
Thanks: 10
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
You got two choices simply disable it by using tune ecu program or disable it and remove it all together I did both its not that hard at all
Moeman is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 01-03-13, 17:55 Thread Starter
Matthw76
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Strood
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thank you I don't really want to play with the ecu

When you say move it is that just discounting the cables at both ends and do you have to wire at open as heard it default is closed?
Matthw76 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 01-03-13, 23:08
Moeman
Senior Member
 
Moeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: SW FL
Posts: 1,285
Thanks: 10
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthw76 View Post
Thank you I don't really want to play with the ecu

When you say move it is that just discounting the cables at both ends and do you have to wire at open as heard it default is closed?
There is a how to on you tube goggle it as far as the tune ECU it's not that complicated you have to buy the OBDII cable , down load the drivers for the cable hook it up between the Lap top and the bike and a few simple steps
You will get the job done
Moeman is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 01-03-13, 23:11
TRMN8TR
Senior Member
 
TRMN8TR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mentor, OH
Posts: 1,935
Thanks: 21
Thanked 68 Times in 45 Posts
You can tell what position the valve is in by looking at the rod coming out that the cam/cables are attached to. The flats on the rod are in the same direction as the valve itself. Make sure the flats are horizontal and not vertical.

Realize you will get a check engine light if you remove the cables and motor and don't turn it off using TuneECU.
TRMN8TR is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 01-04-13, 01:21 Thread Starter
Matthw76
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Strood
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRMN8TR View Post
You can tell what position the valve is in by looking at the rod coming out that the cam/cables are attached to. The flats on the rod are in the same direction as the valve itself. Make sure the flats are horizontal and not vertical.

Realize you will get a check engine light if you remove the cables and motor and don't turn it off using TuneECU.
Thank you I was going to leave the power going to the motor that drives the cable to open and close.

In thinking by doing this the ecu wouldn't,t know I've moved the cable from the value

I don,t have a laptop I'm on here via an iPad
Matthw76 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 01-04-13, 04:49
allaussiegrown
Member
 
allaussiegrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthw76 View Post
Thank you I was going to leave the power going to the motor that drives the cable to open and close.

In thinking by doing this the ecu wouldn't,t know I've moved the cable from the value

I don,t have a laptop I'm on here via an iPad
It will cause an error, the motor will not calibrate on startup and give you a fault code.

tune ecu is very easy to use.

I still get those 'oh shit' moments.... The day I don't, is the day I stop riding.

'11 675R
Werkes Slip On Pipe + STD Fender Elim + Intergrated Tailight - ZG Double Bubble DS - Dual HID Headlights and Angel Eyes with Coloured Headlight Housing - Red Seat Cowl - LED Strip Indicators - 1050 Throttle Tube -
Attack Reasrsets (Red Pegs) - Powdercoated wheels and Sidestand - GB protection Kit - CRG Levers folding - Saddlemen CF Track Seat - Watsens
allaussiegrown is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 01-04-13, 07:56
MacaveliMC
Member
 
MacaveliMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Auburn Hills, MI
Posts: 573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by allaussiegrown View Post
It will cause an error, the motor will not calibrate on startup and give you a fault code.

tune ecu is very easy to use.
+1 if you're going to disconnect it, you need to disable it. Spend $10 or whatever it is for the cable, borrow a laptop, and get it done. It will be beneficial.

I'm not driving fast - I'm flying low

"I actually just have my throttle cable pulled so its
wide open even when i start the bike. balls to the
wall is how i live, screw stoplights and slow people."
- TwoWheeledWonder
MacaveliMC is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-04-13, 08:25
Disrupt
Senior Member
 
Disrupt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 2,345
Thanks: 116
Thanked 39 Times in 32 Posts
It is very simple to do. Where are you located? I am sure there is someone on the forum local to you that could help you out with the cable and laptop.

1993 Mitsubishi 3000GT VR-4
2007 D675
Disrupt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph675.Net Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome