Stupid Tune ECU question - Triumph675.Net Forums
Home Forum Browse Members Calendar Register Today!  
New Posts Faq / Help? XBOX Live Modifications Classifieds
   
Not A Member Yet? Register today and become part of the community.
Go Back   Triumph675.Net Forums > Daytona 675 & Street Triple 675 Global Forums > Modifications > All Things Tuning

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-04-12, 12:21   #1
antirich
Senior Member
 
antirich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ
Posts: 2,150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Stupid Tune ECU question

All right, I'm sure this is simple, but i have no idea where to look.

Just hooked up Tune ECU to look at a few things, and having trouble finding where I can adjust or even verify the ECU's redline. Searched, and no luck.

If it matters, the bike has a custom map/Bazzaz unit as well as the kit ECU.

Everything else shows up fine in Tune ECU. Just have a dash compatibility error code, but the bike works fine. No idea on why the error, it's the stock dash that came with the bike.
__________________
'11 675R

CCS#696

http://www.dragonflyinteractive.com
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-04-12, 14:39   #2
Noodles
Member
 
Noodles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: 20 min south of Mosport
Posts: 404
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

In the map window, hit the + sign on parameters (left side of screen below ignition), it'll expand to show you rev limit, fan switch temp, etc.

Nuno!
__________________
Noodles Racing would like to thank the following sponsors for their support in the 2012 CSBK season:
GP BIKES TRIUMPH, EUROCORSA PERFORMANCE (Bitubo suspension, Spidi leathers, Rizoma rearsets, Power Bronze windscreens), ARMOUR BODIES, MOTOAIRBAG CANADA, MOTOVAN, HINDLE EXHAUST.

http://s21.photobucket.com/albums/b294/Noodles_771/
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-12, 18:09   #3
antirich
Senior Member
 
antirich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ
Posts: 2,150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yea, I see that area, but its greater out on my screen. My map is stored in the Bazazz unit, not the ecu.

I see all of the other functions, like diagnosis and tests. No issues there.
__________________
'11 675R

CCS#696

http://www.dragonflyinteractive.com
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-12, 18:29   #4
Noodles
Member
 
Noodles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: 20 min south of Mosport
Posts: 404
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Double click on the rev limit. If you can't do anything with it, there's something wrong. I also run a bazzaz, but I can make all changes to the base map in tune ecu. Remember, the bazzaz only alters the fueling % of the basemap installed in the Triumph ecu.

Nuno!
__________________
Noodles Racing would like to thank the following sponsors for their support in the 2012 CSBK season:
GP BIKES TRIUMPH, EUROCORSA PERFORMANCE (Bitubo suspension, Spidi leathers, Rizoma rearsets, Power Bronze windscreens), ARMOUR BODIES, MOTOAIRBAG CANADA, MOTOVAN, HINDLE EXHAUST.

http://s21.photobucket.com/albums/b294/Noodles_771/
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-12, 19:11   #5
antirich
Senior Member
 
antirich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ
Posts: 2,150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The tune ecu basically says "no map" with no map data on screen. Can't access anything that says rev limiter.

I'm wondering if there something up with the kit ecu. I bought it used, and I know they have a limit as to how many software codes are used. Maybe it needs to be reflashed or something?

Would rather not shell out Another $300 for a kit ecu if I can help it. Stock one won't work with the kit harness.
__________________
'11 675R

CCS#696

http://www.dragonflyinteractive.com
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-12, 20:50   #6
Noodles
Member
 
Noodles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: 20 min south of Mosport
Posts: 404
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, let's see if you missed a step at the beginning. When you're hooked up to tuneEcu and the ignition in the on position... In map edit screen go to ecu on top of page, then click read map. Make sure your battery is up to snuff, or plugged in the tender, as it will take a few minutes to read the map. Once it's completed reading, save that map to your computer for future reference. Then try to adjust your settings. Good luck.

Nuno!
__________________
Noodles Racing would like to thank the following sponsors for their support in the 2012 CSBK season:
GP BIKES TRIUMPH, EUROCORSA PERFORMANCE (Bitubo suspension, Spidi leathers, Rizoma rearsets, Power Bronze windscreens), ARMOUR BODIES, MOTOAIRBAG CANADA, MOTOVAN, HINDLE EXHAUST.

http://s21.photobucket.com/albums/b294/Noodles_771/
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-12, 09:41   #7
antirich
Senior Member
 
antirich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ
Posts: 2,150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noodles View Post
Ok, let's see if you missed a step at the beginning. When you're hooked up to tuneEcu and the ignition in the on position... In map edit screen go to ecu on top of page, then click read map. Make sure your battery is up to snuff, or plugged in the tender, as it will take a few minutes to read the map. Once it's completed reading, save that map to your computer for future reference. Then try to adjust your settings. Good luck.

Nuno!

Ignition is ok, and battery seems to be fine. Able to read the map in teh Bazzaz unit via their software. Just that when in the Tune ECU, it says "no map" at the top of the screen.

I'll try it again on the charger, maybe its a matter of needing more juice or something. I find it hard to believe that there's no map on the ECU at all. Granted, i didn't buy it new, but still.
__________________
'11 675R

CCS#696

http://www.dragonflyinteractive.com
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-12, 12:28   #8
Cloud22116
Senior Member
 
Cloud22116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oahu
Posts: 2,096
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Try loading a new base map on it?
__________________
2009 Daytona 675
Akra headers/comp werks exhaust, 1050 throttle tube, ohlins ttx rear shock, bazzaz zfi fuel controller/QS, MWR air filter, attack rear sets, galfer rotors front and rear, brembo MC,
2013 Aprilia RSV-4
stock for now
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-12, 15:55   #9
DGray
Junior Member
 
DGray's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Singapore
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have the same thing as ts. Only thing is im connected to a power commander 3. Also cannot read the stock ecu.

What i remembered though is during dyno run and tune, the stock ecu is all put to zero. After that, the tuner chuck in the power commander and run a custom map through there.
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-12, 02:02   #10
Triumph Race Support
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Alfreton, Derbyshire
Posts: 1,470
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

This may sound daft but! are you connected to the Bazzaz and not the OBDII connector? The Bazzaz unit or a PC will not make any difference to being able to read the maps on the bikes ECU.
One thing that messed me up once was a blown alarm fuse. Everything on the bike worked fine (no alarm fitted) but TuneECU just wouldn't read the bikes map.
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump





Forum SEO by Zoints
Copyright 2009 TRIUMPH675.NET Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum