Headlight switch to turn off low beam?? - Page 7 - Triumph675.Net Forums
Home Forum Browse Members Calendar Register Today!  
New Posts Faq / Help? XBOX Live Modifications Classifieds
   
Not A Member Yet? Register today and become part of the community.
Go Back   Triumph675.Net Forums > Daytona 675 & Street Triple 675 Global Forums > Modifications > Cosmetic Mods

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-17-12, 07:38   #61
island boyeee
Member
 
island boyeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Quincy, MA
Posts: 391
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Got mine figured out as well! Only hiccup was that I had to use the blue wire (parking lights), which they label as "blank", to turn on the HIDs. For some reason, turning on the high beams was turning off the low beams (i.e. turning off the HIDs).

I will eventually put up the full wiring schematic with color codes, and pictures of my light output from the dual bi-xenon projectors with 55w HID kit. Even took some comparison pictures of 55w vs. 35w.

Last edited by island boyeee; 07-17-12 at 09:21.
Status: Online
 
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-17-12, 08:30   #62
Godly
Senior Member
 
Godly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Beckley, WV
Posts: 3,350
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmytb View Post
Just boasting...

That looks clean! I have no interest in this myself since it's law here that your headlights have to be on at all times but i'm glad you all found a way to do it and keep it looking OEM!
__________________
"Faster we become, until the thrill of speed overcomes the fear of death"
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-12, 08:57   #63
jimmytb
Member
 
jimmytb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 377
Thanks: 52
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by island boyeee View Post
Got mine figured out as well! Only hiccup was that I had to use the blue wire (parking lights), which they label as "blank", to turn on the HIDs. For some reason, turning on the high beams was turning off the low beams (i.e. turning off the HIDs.
Did you wire the running lights into the switch? I still have to do that but I want to get the proper pins/sockets for the standard connectors first, but I can only find them in packs of 100 for about $10 each pack.
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-12, 09:23   #64
island boyeee
Member
 
island boyeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Quincy, MA
Posts: 391
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I don't use parking lights in the front. I pulled the bulbs out shortly after I got the bike.

The tail and license plate lights still turn on with the ignition. Thought about at least tying the license plate light into the switch, but that's a project for next year.
Status: Online
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-12, 05:03   #65
miketriple
Member
 
miketriple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 465
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonymac View Post
http://www.ecliptech.com.au/index.ph...=78&Itemid=160

I am working on a switch for that right now. I want to run my LED's for show and headlights for riding.

I use that kit and it rocks.
__________________
Street: Daytona 675se 2010 ... Sold

Track: Daytona 675 2008 ... Sold
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-12, 21:50   #66
SvperXero 675
Junior Member
 
SvperXero 675's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronxville, NY
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karl View Post
Sweet as… I started to get the “well, ya know if you where going to buy it from us well ya know we could give you the number but it’s not the done thing as you understand ya know…” bullshit.
Mac, you’re a legend.
$215NZ vs. $400NZ… I dunno why people aren’t buying locally…

I got these off ebay.uk for £40 shipped to the States. It's off a 2005 955i. Now I just need help wiring the thing. It's plug but not play. The bike will not start with it on and it only seems to work with the high beam. The low beam and parking lights stay on when the bike is on even thought the switch is in the off position. And I have no clue where the UK piggy tail would even wire to on the U.S. spec bikes. Any help would be much appreciated.



Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-12, 07:32   #67
jimmytb
Member
 
jimmytb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 377
Thanks: 52
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Your controls+plugs look the same as the ones I bought, You have to move the clutch switch over to the new controls, and ditch the piggy back. I posted the original wiring schematic here http://www.triumph675.net/forum/showthread.php?t=63957, my memory is fuzzy on the new wiring to accommodate turning off the lights and Im away from my bike atm...

Update: By default the lights would be on even with the controls not plugged in because the headlight wiring bypasses the switch, I had to cut one of the wires going to the headlights and wire it through the controls. Have a look at the haynes manual for a full schematic.

Last edited by jimmytb; 12-12-12 at 07:45.
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-12, 08:33   #68
island boyeee
Member
 
island boyeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Quincy, MA
Posts: 391
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Should've just gotten the K&S Tech assembly...


I still have all my wiring written down and pictures of my install. I should put those up some day
Status: Online
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-12, 15:24   #69
SvperXero 675
Junior Member
 
SvperXero 675's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronxville, NY
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Thanks for the help Jimmy! I'm gnna get crackin' at this once I'm finished with my shift.
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-12, 15:26   #70
SvperXero 675
Junior Member
 
SvperXero 675's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronxville, NY
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by island boyeee View Post
Should've just gotten the K&S Tech assembly...


I still have all my wiring written down and pictures of my install. I should put those up some day
Yes, yes you should.
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump





Forum SEO by Zoints
Copyright ©2009 TRIUMPH675.NET Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum