Chain / sprocket size question - Page 2 - Triumph675.Net Forums
Home Forum Browse Members Calendar Register Today!  
New Posts Faq / Help? XBOX Live Modifications Classifieds
   
Not A Member Yet? Register today and become part of the community.
Go Back   Triumph675.Net Forums > Daytona 675 & Street Triple 675 Global Forums > Maintenance and repair > Repair/Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-12, 07:39   #11
Havoc30
Junior Member
 
Havoc30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San clemente, CA
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Anybody have any input for me?? I'm planning on putting a new supersprox rear sprocket on but going up 2 teeth to 49 and staying with 16 in the front.. Is a 525-116 chain going to work with this or do I need a different chain??
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-05-12, 16:44   #12
Bamboo671
Senior Member
 
Bamboo671's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Buckeye, Arizona
Posts: 3,028
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Bamboo671
Default

116 links is enough. The chain will more than likely come with 120 and you will have to cut away some links. don't forget to take into account the master link that you are attaching!
__________________
1997 YZF100R/Thunderace - She committed suicide 15Mar07!
2008 Daytona 675 - She was murdered 30Jan13
2013 Daytona 675R - Sexy reincarnation 15Mar13!
Status: Online
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-12, 18:04   #13
Geof3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 556
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I ran 520s on both my Ducati and Speed Triple. No problems at all. The key is, correct adjustment. Same thing with aluminum rear sprockets. Steel fronts are the way to go. Aluminum rears wear out a bit faster, but not much if you do proper maintenance. If you get a high quality chain it is not a problem to run a 520. If you change your sprocket sizes your mileage recording will be incorrect as well as your speedometer. You will need to get a speedo-healer to compensate if that is an issue for you.

In terms of changing chains/sprockets etc. I have always stuck with changing the entire package at the same time. It's less hassle and you know exactly what the mileage is on the entire final drive.
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump





Forum SEO by Zoints
Copyright 2009 TRIUMPH675.NET Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum