Better Brakes - Finally! - Page 4 - Triumph675.Net Forums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #31 of 63 Old 08-14-12, 20:48
TonyNyc
Member
 
TonyNyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
09+ Calipers are different. They are the black Nissin Monoblocks.

You can use older years rotors with them without issue. I have a 2nd set of 08 wheels and rotors and have not had issue on my 09.

I highly recommend the Brembo RCS MC with the adjustment turned to the 'red' facing up. Also Markbuilt put in new pads for me about a month ago. Not sure what they are (will find out) but like them much better than the Carbon Lorriane Racing ones. More progressive feel, better for trail braking.


TS
TonyNyc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 63 Old 11-27-12, 03:46
thejuiceman
Junior Member
 
thejuiceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Dade City
Posts: 145
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Can I simply (yea right, simply) install R6 Calipers on my 09+ Daytona with some spacers without changing my lines or master cylinder?
If so can someone point me in the right direction to the source for the spacers.
(I can't mod a potato head, more less anything with wheels)
thejuiceman is offline  
post #33 of 63 Old 11-27-12, 11:15
tuscani451
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My buddy just recently did this, I had him email me the following info:

Zoran makes the spacers:

http://www.twfracing.com/

You also need the bolts to mount the calipers they must be the Yamaha bolts. You can find them here from Pro-Bolts

http://www.probolt-usa.com/stainless...l#.ULTgYIXlXcg

I think that was the cheapest option. The brake lines are from Spiegler you can call them. Defiantly buy new banjo bolts for the calipers and the master cylinder. Don't take any chances reusing the existing parts. I bought all new personally.

http://www.spieglerusa.com/

That should be all you need to start that project.
tuscani451 is offline  
post #34 of 63 Old 11-27-12, 15:28
thejuiceman
Junior Member
 
thejuiceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Dade City
Posts: 145
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks!
thejuiceman is offline  
post #35 of 63 Old 11-30-12, 14:23
thejuiceman
Junior Member
 
thejuiceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Dade City
Posts: 145
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Can anyone give me the information I would need to give a machinist to make the bolts for me?
I like to support my local machinist when possible, as long as the cost is not way out of line.
thejuiceman is offline  
post #36 of 63 Old 12-03-12, 16:02
thejuiceman
Junior Member
 
thejuiceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Dade City
Posts: 145
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If I buy R6 calipers, can I use other R6 front brake components with my Daytona, such as:
1. Reservoir
2. Master Cylinder
3. Brake Lines
4. Pads

I am shopping for R6 calipers and some of them are sold with some or all of the components above, so I am wondering if they will work attached to my Daytona, either as single pieces or all together.

Thanks!
thejuiceman is offline  
post #37 of 63 Old 12-03-12, 16:11
MGFChapin
Senior Member
 
MGFChapin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 1
Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts
You can use an R6 reservoir. You can use an R6 master. You might be able to use R6 lines but the OEM ones are rubber and inferior to the Daytona's stock steel lines. You can use R6 pads with R6 calipers.
MGFChapin is offline  
post #38 of 63 Old 12-03-12, 18:41
thejuiceman
Junior Member
 
thejuiceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Dade City
Posts: 145
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Regarding the brake pads, lol, what I MEANT to say was "Can I use Daytona break pads in the R6 calipers.
Thanks much for the info!
thejuiceman is offline  
post #39 of 63 Old 12-03-12, 18:56
MGFChapin
Senior Member
 
MGFChapin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 1
Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts
Nope.
MGFChapin is offline  
post #40 of 63 Old 12-04-12, 16:37
thejuiceman
Junior Member
 
thejuiceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Dade City
Posts: 145
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Can I use my banjo bolt?
thejuiceman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph675.Net Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome