'12 d675R what year 150 throttle tube?? - Triumph675.Net Forums
Home Forum Browse Members Calendar Register Today!  
New Posts Faq / Help? XBOX Live Modifications Classifieds
   
Not A Member Yet? Register today and become part of the community.
Go Back   Triumph675.Net Forums > Daytona 675 & Street Triple 675 Global Forums > Modifications > Performance Mods

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-28-12, 10:29   #1
Swift_R
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Upland
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default '12 d675R what year 150 throttle tube??

Sorry if it's a repost my search function is not working >:O

I have a '12 Daytona 675R im looking to do 1050 throttle tube on it. im curious if they changed at all through the years? Any idea what years will fit?

Also i know it is a bit fatter? What grips will fit if?

Thanks!
Darrel
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-12, 01:05   #2
MacBandit
Senior Member
 
MacBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 8,935
Thanks: 1
Thanked 38 Times in 36 Posts
Default

Any of the Speed Triple 1050 throttle tubes will work. There have been no changes for the 1050 or 675 throttle tube. The throttle tube is the exact same size as the one on the Daytona and every other bike made so no need for different grips.
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-12, 13:01   #3
MakinBeer
Member
 
MakinBeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: IE, CA
Posts: 342
Thanks: 6
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Related question: I was told that the 1050 tube wouldn't work with the 2012's revised throttle mapping, which makes no sense to me. Confirm/deny? The sales guy told me yes (he has an older Daytona), like three people at the parts counter told me no. It seems to me it would be the same as if I grabbed a whole bunch of throttle, just with less total movement.

Also, how much does this alter cable positioning/routing?
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-12, 13:33   #4
MacBandit
Senior Member
 
MacBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 8,935
Thanks: 1
Thanked 38 Times in 36 Posts
Default

All 675s received the same throttle mapping with the latest map updates.

You have to readjust the cable free play but no rerouting necessary.
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-12, 13:49   #5
MakinBeer
Member
 
MakinBeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: IE, CA
Posts: 342
Thanks: 6
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacBandit View Post
All 675s received the same throttle mapping with the latest map updates.
Thanks. I'll have to go back and call shenanigans. Even the sales guy said 2012s have a non-linear/softer/progressive throttle mapping.
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-12, 13:58   #6
MacBandit
Senior Member
 
MacBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 8,935
Thanks: 1
Thanked 38 Times in 36 Posts
Default

They made a big deal about the new throttle mapping in the press releases but didn't say a thing about the new maps they released for all the other bikes at the same time other then that they were for ethanol fuel. One of the details of the new maps though was that it contained the same throttle smoothing, rpm matching on down shift and other throttle related features that the 2012 models received.

The new completely new 2013 models however do have completely different throttle cams and mapping that will not be applied to older bikes.
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-12, 09:54   #7
Swift_R
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Upland
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MakinBeer View Post
Related question: I was told that the 1050 tube wouldn't work with the 2012's revised throttle mapping, which makes no sense to me. Confirm/deny? The sales guy told me yes (he has an older Daytona), like three people at the parts counter told me no. It seems to me it would be the same as if I grabbed a whole bunch of throttle, just with less total movement.

Also, how much does this alter cable positioning/routing?
I ended up ordering the tube for an 09 speed tripple ill let u know how it works after Christmas when i install it :)
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-12, 11:50   #8
MacBandit
Senior Member
 
MacBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 8,935
Thanks: 1
Thanked 38 Times in 36 Posts
Default

As long as its a 1050 Speed then it will work fine.
Status: Offline
 
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump





Forum SEO by Zoints
Copyright 2009 TRIUMPH675.NET Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum