20000Km & All valves in spec. - Triumph675.Net Forums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 11-22-12, 07:28 Thread Starter
crash&burn
Junior Member
 
crash&burn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up 20000Km & All valves in spec.

I am so impressed with this bike, at the 20000 km B service after 3 years ownership from new & countless track days not one valve needed shimming. New plugs were fitted, BMC air filter washed, oil (fully synthetic) & filter changed. Throttle bodies were also OK. Only repair was to the bush on the clutch lever that I didn't even notice was worn.
The bike shop that did the work also prepares race bikes, the facilities are spotless & their work meticulous, all the things the local Triumph dealer is not.
I am considering a recommendation to fit a "Power comander" but will see if I race the Street or get another bike for that purpose.

''You win some, you lose some, you crash some''
crash&burn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 11-22-12, 08:13
Orangeman
BOTM Winner
 
Orangeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: S FL / USA
Posts: 793
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts


Question...why would you pay the premium for a Power Commander when our ECU's are programmable and the TuneECU software to do it is free. Costs all of about $10 for the proper patch cord ?

.

.. My Bike.. ...has a new owner :(
Orangeman is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 11-22-12, 09:27 Thread Starter
crash&burn
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
crash&burn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orangeman View Post


Question...why would you pay the premium for a Power Commander when our ECU's are programmable and the TuneECU software to do it is free. Costs all of about $10 for the proper patch cord ?

.
Umm because I am not that good with a cell phone never mind Tune ECU
As always, I appreciate your advice though O/man, I must look into this, maybe the guy just wants to sell Power Comanders.

''You win some, you lose some, you crash some''
crash&burn is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 11-22-12, 10:37
Polystigma
Member
 
Polystigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 563
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Fingers crossed this is the case with mine. I am opening the bike up tomorrow. Already have a shim kit on hand from, Hot Cams. Hopefully I won't have to use it.

Also going to try my hand (first time) at using TuneECU to synch my throttle bodies. May also re-flash to the latest Arrow 3-1 map. I think I may have an older map, but not sure.
Would also have to reset TPS, and reset adaptation if I remap, correct?

Polystigma is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 11-22-12, 11:12
Orangeman
BOTM Winner
 
Orangeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: S FL / USA
Posts: 793
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
Yes sir...always re-set the TPS as your last step after doing ANYTHING ..

Just remember after you are done everytihg else to hit disconnect in the TuneECU program, turn the ignition off....wait until the bike finishes dialing the mother ship....turn the ignition back on, re-connect TuneECU, then do your adaptation re-set.

.

.. My Bike.. ...has a new owner :(
Orangeman is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 11-22-12, 11:15
Tronix
Senior Member
 
Tronix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 1,961
Thanks: 4
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orangeman View Post
Yes sir...always re-set the TPS as your last step after doing ANYTHING ..

Just remember after you are done everytihg else to hit disconnect in the TuneECU program, turn the ignition off....wait until the bike finishes dialing the mother ship....turn the ignition back on, re-connect TuneECU, then do your adaptation re-set.

.
Is that what I hear? lol

Bike: 2012 Triumph Street Triple R - My youtube channel with my videos


Car: 2012 MazdaSpeed3 JBR TIP SRI | Damond OCC | COBB AP | Stage 1 S-OTS 93
Tronix is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 11-22-12, 11:44
Bamboo671
Senior Member
 
Bamboo671's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Somewhere between here and there
Posts: 3,940
Thanks: 16
Thanked 54 Times in 52 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orangeman View Post
Yes sir...always re-set the TPS as your last step after doing ANYTHING ..

Just remember after you are done everytihg else to hit disconnect in the TuneECU program, turn the ignition off....wait until the bike finishes dialing the mother ship....turn the ignition back on, re-connect TuneECU, then do your adaptation re-set.

.
What's the harm if you don't let ET phone home and then do the reset? I've always just turned the bike on and let it run until the reset TPS turned green.


Sent from my DROIDX using Motorcycle.com App

1997 YZF100R/Thunderace - She committed suicide 15Mar07!
2008 Daytona 675 - She was murdered 30Jan13
2013 Daytona 675R - Sexy reincarnation 15Mar13!
Bamboo671 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 11-22-12, 12:09
Orangeman
BOTM Winner
 
Orangeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: S FL / USA
Posts: 793
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
When you shut it down and let it go through its re-set in preparation for the next start you are absolutely sure that everything is at its proper zeroed starting position which is what you need for a correct TPS/adaptation re-set.

.

.. My Bike.. ...has a new owner :(
Orangeman is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 11-22-12, 14:40
2BRacing
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 212
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by crash&burn View Post
The bike shop that did the work also prepares race bikes, the facilities are spotless & their work meticulous, all the things the local Triumph dealer is not.
Hi

Would you mind giving the name of the shop you used? I must admit I am also wary of the dealer, but they did a R/R replacement under goodwill in April - long before the bulletins, so I am still prepared to use them for 40,000 km service coming up.

Thanks
2BRacing is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 11-22-12, 16:11
toronto675
Junior Member
 
toronto675's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
As a fellow luddite first i learned to use a pc then use it to tune my bike using tuneecu. Not hard just take your time .

Sent from my GT-I9100M using Motorcycle.com Free App
toronto675 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph675.Net Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome