GoPro Hero3 - Page 5 - Triumph675.Net Forums
General 675 discussion Anything related to the Triumph 675 model(s), and miscellaneous motorcycle talk.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #41 of 97 Old 10-18-12, 18:32
aiya
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKStriple View Post
Is that accurate? If you didn't care about the WiFi, wouldn't you be better off getting the Hero2 for $199 (I know it's slightly larger) instead of getting the Hero3 White at the same price, paying $299 for the Hero3 Silver?
I got that info from the GoPro site itself when reading the specs for each version. They specifically stated that each one films in the equivalent resolution to each of the older models.
aiya is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 97 Old 10-20-12, 00:03
dlroto
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hunt Valley,Maryland
Posts: 174
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have 3 gopro's 1 hd2 and 2 hd's. I won't buy another one until the battery in time lapsed mode lasts a whole day. All they need to do is make it go into sleep mode in between pics. Just shy of 3 hours is a little to short to do nice time lapsed sequences.


Sent from my iPhone using MO Free

2001 Kawasaki EX-250
2010 Street Triple R
dlroto is offline  
post #43 of 97 Old 11-04-12, 16:30 Thread Starter
SeeNoEvo
Junior Member
Threadstarter Threadstarter
 
SeeNoEvo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 144
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I just spent the week at SEMA and got to talk with and handle a new Hero 3 and all I can say is wow it's soo damn small and light I had my Hero 1 with LCD backpack on and held the Hero 3 with touchscreen LCD backpack in other hand and its ridiculous how much lighter and smaller it is, I'm definitely going to buy a black because you get a free remote but if you already have a remote just buy Silver and on a plus side I have a $100 off coupon from them
SeeNoEvo is offline  
post #44 of 97 Old 11-04-12, 17:30
Hokie
Senior Member
 
Hokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,350
Thanks: 15
Thanked 137 Times in 105 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeNoEvo View Post
I just spent the week at SEMA and got to talk with and handle a new Hero 3 and all I can say is wow it's soo damn small and light I had my Hero 1 with LCD backpack on and held the Hero 3 with touchscreen LCD backpack in other hand and its ridiculous how much lighter and smaller it is, I'm definitely going to buy a black because you get a free remote but if you already have a remote just buy Silver and on a plus side I have a $100 off coupon from them
The silver doesn't have all the features of the black model. The silver is basically a HD2, but smaller. The black adds all the new modes (like 60fps in 1080p, and 120fps in 720p).

That being said, my HD3 Silver should be arriving on Wednesday, and I'll have all of next week testing it out while diving in Grand Cayman. Already fabbed up some mounts.



Kind of hard to see, but there's a pvc pipe with holes drilled in it with a tripod mount on the end, and the second mount is 2 handles with a bar between. I need to pick up a second tripod mount to attach there.
Hokie is offline  
post #45 of 97 Old 11-10-12, 19:21
SeoulMan
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gainesville
Posts: 453
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Picked up a Hero 3 black edition earlier this week. My friend and I went out for a ride earlier today and shot some videos. This is my first GoPro so I can't compare it to the previous versions but the video quality is pretty stunning at 1080p and 60 fps.

We had a slight hiccup trying to view it, probably just user error, I transferred the videos to a usb flash drive and attempted to play it through my 360 on my tv. The sound however wasn't synced with the video correctly, the sound played like normal however the video was choppy. We ended up just watching the clips on my HD monitor. Anyone have an explanation for the problem running it off a flash drive?
SeoulMan is offline  
post #46 of 97 Old 11-11-12, 22:38
Hokie
Senior Member
 
Hokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,350
Thanks: 15
Thanked 137 Times in 105 Posts
Sure you have the black edition? It doesn't ship from GoPro until the very end of the month.
Hokie is offline  
post #47 of 97 Old 11-11-12, 23:12
WiK1d
Senior Member
 
WiK1d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 777
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeoulMan View Post
Anyone have an explanation for the problem running it off a flash drive?
Flash drive is probably not fast enough to handle the high bitrate of 1080p60


www.bertusras.com | @bertusras
'07 Derbi GPR125 2T | '07 Triumph Daytona
WiK1d is online now  
post #48 of 97 Old 11-12-12, 00:26
Aeroquiv
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Irvine
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the link OKSriple!
Anyone ever try mounting the Gopro on the chinbar?
Aeroquiv is offline  
post #49 of 97 Old 11-12-12, 07:10
SeoulMan
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gainesville
Posts: 453
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hokie View Post
Sure you have the black edition? It doesn't ship from GoPro until the very end of the month.



Yeah, I have the black edition. I think the release date for the black was in October but from what I've heard talking with GoPro and other stores is that GoPro simply hasn't been able to get the Black editions to retail stores.
SeoulMan is offline  
post #50 of 97 Old 11-12-12, 07:14
SeoulMan
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gainesville
Posts: 453
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiK1d View Post
Flash drive is probably not fast enough to handle the high bitrate of 1080p60
I thought that might be the problem too I'll just have to pick up a micro HDMI cable.
SeoulMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph675.Net Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome