DOT 5.1 vs. DOT 4 for brake fluid [Archive] - Triumph675.Net Forums

: DOT 5.1 vs. DOT 4 for brake fluid

motojc
06-17-07, 01:38
anybody has knowledge on this? The store, the product and the internet all say the 5.1 is compatible with 4. Seems like the 5.1 has a even higher boiling point which is a good thing. The local Japanese store carries only 5.1 now.

So today, I put the 5.1 in, after everything is done, the bleeder nipple looks mist, all three of them, the left and right and master, everything was tight, and cleaned. it's coming out of the base where the bleeder goes in. at least the rubber covers are always wet, did I just do something real bad? is 5.1 eating my internal seals now? help!

The brake is performing very good afer the bleeding.

Thanks.

Lightsdarkness
06-17-07, 02:31
mine leaked out of the bleeder valve as well. I put some teflon tape on it and 3000 miles later no leaks.

Budo
06-17-07, 02:58
I am not an expert on this subject, but i was told that if you switch from DOT 4 to 5.1 you need to flush the system completely before swapping. In other words, you are not supposed to mix the slightest bit of 4 and 5.1

Like i said, i have no idea if its true or not... i was just told so... :P

jbj
06-17-07, 03:55
anybody has knowledge on this? The store, the product and the internet all say the 5.1 is compatible with 4. Seems like the 5.1 has a even higher boiling point which is a good thing. The local Japanese store carries only 5.1 now.

So today, I put the 5.1 in, after everything is done, the bleeder nipple looks mist, all three of them, the left and right and master, everything was tight, and cleaned. it's coming out of the base where the bleeder goes in. at least the rubber covers are always wet, did I just do something real bad? is 5.1 eating my internal seals now? help!

The brake is performing very good afer the bleeding.

Thanks.